Nha Hang Ngon, Part 2 – Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

I have written about Ngon before, once upon a long time ago. But the place has changed quite a bit since I was last there. Previously, it used to only sell Vietnamese food with a smattering of western here and there, but now the entire menu has expanded to include dim sum, Japanese food etc.

That’s usually not a good sign and I felt disappointed. However, I decided to give it a shot anyway for old times sake. I stuck to ordering the Vietnamese fare with my favourite Bun Thit Nuong Cha Gio – rice vermicelli with roasted pork and fried spring roll.

I’m happy to say that the quality of this dish has not changed. The cha gio is big, fat and juicy with fragrant pork, and the meat was well charred. I love this dish solely for the spring roll! 🙂

IMG_0921

My friend decided on the broken rice version of the roasted pork dish, and we split a Salted Egg Tofu dish. The salted egg tofu was a good rendition, and while this salted egg thing has hit Vietnam, it’s not reached the multitude of the trend in Singapore. You can actually taste the actual salted egg, not the sweet salted egg powder we have grown accustomed to.

Behold the customary flat lay.

IMG_0919

Aside from Saigon, I realised Ngon had expanded to Hanoi, Cambodia, as well as Germany. Shocking! But I am pleased that they have not shut down.

What memories this place gives me….

Nh Hang Ngon is on 60 Pasteur, Bến Nghé, Hồ Chí Minh, Bến Nghé Quận 1 Thành phố Hồ Chí Minh, Vietnam.

