The Deck – Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

I’ve not been back to Saigon for years and finally, I went back for a visit over the long weekend and all I can say is, it is really same same, but different.

So of course, the last time I was at The Deck, I was with my now ex-boyfriend with horrible night photos that did not really do the place justice. I went back for the second time to celebrate my birthday for a lovely lunch with one of my closest friends this time around.

For the uninitated, The Deck a semi-fine dining restaurant in the middle of no where in Thao Dien. It’s about 20 minutes by cab from District 1, depending on traffic. The crowd is mostly expats, tourists, and the wealthy locals.

IMG_0898.jpg

As with any good restaurant, you have to pick from the specials of the day as that’s what is in season at the moment. My friend and I shared the starter portion of the Blue Lipped Mussels in a White Wine Cream Sauce, and we were not disappointed. Look at the size of those mussels!

Untitled

For our main course, I had the seared Yellowfin Tuna Steak with Eggplant Caviar, and my friend has the Salmon Fillet in a coconut cream sauce. Both were beautifully seasoned and done well although the kale chips were soaking in oil, so that could have been better. But other than that the fish dishes were up fresh and up to par.

IMG_0905.jpg

And what’s a meal without dessert? The Passionfruit Cheesecake was a wonderful finish to the meal. Creamy, decadent cheese reveals a passionfruit puree centre which cut through the richness of the cream cheese.

I’ll always remember The Deck for being one of the nicest restaraunts in Saigon.

Oh don’t worry, I had Vietnamese food too. Those posts are coming. 😀

Visit www.thedecksaigon.com  (The site plays music, don’t say I didn’t warn you)

