Legends Beer – Hanoi, Vietnam

Happy 2017 everyone! How did you spend your last days of 2016? Well, I spent them rather fruitfully in Hanoi. I hadn’t been back to Vietnam since my Saigon days, so I was quite happy to be back amongst the organised chaos of scooters, street food and cheap beer.

Overlooking the three-way crossing on Hang Dao, the building houses several eateries such as a Korean BBQ, Highland Coffee, and on level 2 was Legends Beer. After a particularly long day of exploring the Old Quarter and the French Quarter, I settled into Legends Beer for a spot of people watching and Vietnamese food.

img_8936

And of course a pint of lager. They also do have their own brand of dunkel if you prefer dark beers. Can you see the hint of chaos behind the beer?

They have an assortment of bar food and western food, but why would I want that in Vietnam? I picked a nice warm bowl of pho bo and a side of nem to match. It was rather chilly at 18 degrees…

img_8939

This lovely bowl of pho arrived at the table with tender slices of medium cooked beef in a robust soup stock. A handful of aromatics such as chopped spring onions, cilantro and mint is then thrown in before a squeeze of lime adds a tang to this deceptively simple bowl of beef noodles. Mmmm. I miss pho bo already.

Boy I did not realise how much I missed Vietnamese food.

IMG_8938.jpg

The nem was nothing much to write home about with its overly oily skin, however the seafood filling was simply lovely. And hey, fried stuff and beer? I’m not going to complain.

It’s great to sit at the balcony especially on a chilly night for a wonderful albeit slightly noisy view.

Legends Beer is located at 7 Đinh Tiên Hoàng, Hàng Trống, Hoàn Kiếm, Hà Nội, Vietnam

