IT Roo Cafe – Johor Bahru, Malaysia

First off, I must confess. I have not stepped into Johor Bahru for almost 20 years, despite living 40 minutes away from the border. I know, I know. I was busy going to more far flung locations.

So I finally took two buses and an Uber across the border to end up at this local cafe in the middle of JB’s finest hipster enclave in Jalan Dhoby (Little India). IT Roo Cafe -don’t ask me why it is named that – is touted to serve the “Best Chicken Chop in Town”. Of course, I had to try it out for myself.

And I was not disappointed. Apart from the famed chicken dish, they do have an array of other items such as mee mamak and fried rice. My friend and I shared a deep fried chicken cutlet and a mee mamak. Apparently, mee mamak is an Indian version of the mee goreng. However, as with most similar food in the Malaysia vs Singapore arena; it is “same, same. but different”, as we like to say.

img_7183

The golden fried cutlet comes with a few slices of fried potatoes, coleslaw, and a river of mushroom/pepper sauce, and – well, just so you feel healthier – a slice of tomato and cucumber too. I must say that it was very well fried without being overly oily. The chicken within was juicy and tender too!

There was an option that came with 2 eggs, but my friend thought that would’ve been too much food. Thankfully I listened to her, as this arrived at the table.

img_7182

That’s a pretty huge place of fried noodles! The mee mamak came studded with beancurd, bits of seafood, a whole lotta egg and some beansprouts and choy sum. The noodles havw a slightly sweet aftertaste of ketchup, but don’t let that fool you as the spice creeps up on you as you eat!

But, most of my friends know I’m weak sauce when it comes to chilli, so the rest of you fiends will be just fine.

IT Roo Cafe is located at 17 Jalan Dhoby, Johor Bahru 80100

