Padenus – Milan, Italy

If you’re in the Porto Venezia area in Milan, I highly recommend this hipster bar Padenus for an aperitif and a subsequent meal. By the time I got to dinner I lost count of how many glasses of prosecco I had (well probably only about 3). Dining in Milan is definitely at least 40% cheaper than in Paris.

The place is suitably young with families and groups of friends gathering for dinner and a large array of antipasti was laid out on the bar for those having the aperitif menu.

My dining companions and I were hungry for dinner at that point which was about 7.30pm. A little early for an Italian dinner but they had their mains available anyway.

IMG_1251

The place also serves fresh pressed juices for “detox” cures and  flu busters etc. Yeah, it is that kind of hipster bar. My companions decided on a plain pizza pomodoro and a light fresh prawn salad as they were still full from lunch.

Well, as for me…. I was craving meat. Raw meat. So, I had steak tartare. I know, I know. Steak tartare in Italy? I had steak tartare a few more times after I left for Paris.  But the one at Pandenus was served beautifully.

My dish took the longest despite not requiring any cooking. Which made me a little angsty as I was already hungry by then.

IMG_1255

And then I realised they spent time fitting the meat into a round mould and sticking chopped pistachios on the edges. The raw egg yolk was served on the side so I could mix it in on my own.

My dining companions were squeamish at me chowing down on raw meat, but hey, I didn’t need to share. 😛

The side of fried potatoes were a little under done, so I didn’t bother finishing them. Perhaps sticking with regular fries would have been better.

Anyhoo, I had my meat fix, so I was a happy girl.

Do check out Padenus if you’re in the area. Oh tourists, wifi is free here too.

Visit www.pandenus.it

