Spizza Mercato – Singapore

The new Capitol Piazza is finally open! Well ish, most of the tenants aren’t in yet.

But I know that Parisian cafe Angelina and Taiwanese dessert Dazzling Cafe will be in the mall. In fact Dazzling Cafe is already open if you want French toast drizzled with syrup. When I was there and craving for some solid food, I came across Spizza Mercato.

Now, of course I’ve had Spizza before. I love the truffle pizza and gnocchi there. Spizza Mercato also sells takeaway pizzas, pastries and several types of cookware and groceries.

My friends and I shared a small salami pizza that turned out to be extremely potent. It was super spicy with the chilli oil oozing out from the salami. But I loved every bite.

They were also having an offer (I can’t remember the exact details) that allowed us to have a complimentary calamari or chicken wings. We picked the calamari and we were not disappointed by the crisp golden rings.

spiz 1

For our mains, of course I had the gnocchi. I avoided the one with the gorgonzola sauce as that is way too smelly for me. So I opted for the vegetarian tomato based gnocchi. I asked the manager nicely if I could add some pancetta in it and he obliged. They have add on options for the pizzas and pastas anyway. So I just topped up $4 for pancetta.

IMG_0295

I am never disappointed with the gnocchi at Spizza. It’s always nicely al dente and chewy enough. I had many bad experiences with gnocchi here including one I had lately. But I’ll save that for another post.

spiz 2

My friends had the Aglio Olio linguine with prawns and the Homemade fettucine with crabmeat sauce. The fettucine looked a little like mee pok and we were apprehensive about it. But the texture was perfect. Softer than dry pasta but still al dente.

We decided to skip dessert at Spizza Mercato, but they do have a range of cakes at their counter for your choosing.

Visit www.facebook.com/spizza.sg

