Making Spaghetti alla Carbonara – Singapore 

On a whim I decided to try my hand at cooking an authentic version of spaghetti carbonara with nothing else in my fridge but 1 egg, a few slices of streaky bacon and garlic. So, I tried making this a couple of days ago while I followed a Pinterest recipe, and hell my eggs got scrambled, so that recipe was a big fat ZERO. After a particularly hard day, I decided to try this again. With no recipe. And I succeeded. Hell yeah! Ok if you want to be nit-picky, I had no Parmesan so you can call this a low-fat, non-dairy version of carbonara. Meanwhile for my poor man’s version of carbonara, you’ll need 1 egg, 2 strips of streaky bacon, chopped garlic and pasta. That’s it. Boil your pasta as usual and drain it but leave some of the pasta water behind as you need the moisture. Then toss the bacon in with the garlic and let the grease seep out. Throw the pasta into the pot and coat the pasta with the grease. Beat an egg in a small bowl and take the pasta off the heat. Using a pair of chopsticks (yes, I used chopsticks to cook pasta), keep twirling the noodles and drizzle the egg in bit by bit. Do not stop stirring! Your eggs might scramble.  Make sure the egg coats the pasta with a silky sauce. This is the point where you stir in the cheese as well if you have some. Season with pepper and a little pimenton powder to taste. Et voila, my own “low-fat” carbonara.

