Jing Hua – Singapore

Traditional Chinese food goes up market with the opening of the third outlet of Jing Hua in Palais Renaissance.

Put it this way, Palais Renaissance is a mall so exclusive there’s no one in it but rich expatriate wives lounging in the overpriced cafes and going for some “work” done. So I was very surprised to find an affordable Chinese restaurant in the mall.

My love for Northern Chinese food such as la mian and dumplings knows no bounds and I’ll never be sick of it. So, my dining companion and I had the quintessential Zha jiang mian and the new Black Pepper Xiao Long Bao.

Zha jiang mian and Black pepper beef xiao long bao

Zha jiang mian and Black pepper beef xiao long bao

The noodles were soft and springy while the meat sauce with fermented black bean hit all the right spots with its viscosity. Too many places tend to water down the noodles to suit local palates. The Black Pepper Beef xiao long bao didn’t have enough pepper in my opinion as I was expecting something more numbing. But the beefy broth within was excellent.

Guo tie and Jiao zi

Guo tie and Jiao zi

My favourite dishes did not disappoint. The fried potstickers or guotie have open ends to allow the steam to escape so you won’t burn yourself. They are so small you could pop the whole thing into your mouth all at once! I absolutely loved the steamed jiao zi as well for its thin skin and meaty filling with chives.

If there was a dumpling eating competition, I think I would be able to eat about 20 on my own. Ok, that doesn’t sound like very much…but sometimes after 8 or 10 large ones, I’m KO-ed.

Home made tang yuan in osmanthus soup and Green tea red bean dumplings

Home made tang yuan in osmanthus soup and Green tea red bean dumplings

Dessert came and I had even more dumplings! The tang yuan comes in different flavours – peanut, sesame, and red bean. The accompanying osmanthus soup was a nice switch from the usual saccharine peanut soups that come with tang yuan.

The Green Tea Red Bean dumplings are very decadent as the red bean paste is homemade and it shows in its density and smooth texture. Mmmm.

Crispy Red Bean Pancake

Crispy Red Bean Pancake

This one was the piece de resistance. Remember the thick and smooth red bean paste I was talking about? Imagine it slathered in between crispy pastry, fried and served with a heap of sesame seeds.

Think of the crunch and the sweet oozing paste followed by the aroma from the sesame seeds….

Do I have you dreaming yet? Do share this as it is quite large. Sharing is caring.

Visit www.jinghua.sg

