Le Comptoir – Singapore

I had my little taste of France at Le Comptoir on Circular Road. Le Comptoir -meaning “the counter” in French – is a nod to the little stands and counters that sell crepes, both savoury and sweet to the masses.

Le Comptoir is no counter, it’s a full fledged creperie complete with ciders from Bretagne. My other half tends to think that crepes in SIN City are over-priced for the amount you get but I must say the crepes at Le Comptoir are very generous.

I ordered the signature Menage a Trois. A crisp buckwheat crepe arrived with a sunny-side up, ham and emmental cheese. If you’re really hungry, try the Menage a 5. It comes with two more ingredients – tomatoes and mushrooms.

Frenchies would be happy to know that there is a crepe option with stinky raclette cheese too.  Yes you read me right froggies, I called your cheese, smelly. 😛

Oui, menage a trois

Oui, menage a trois

My dining companion had the ratatouille crepe that came with egg and cheese. She complained that the crepe seemed to never end due to the pile of finely cut vegetables.

IMG_9059

But as filling as the savoury crepes are, there’s always room for dessert. And the Caramel au beurre sale crepe is tres tres bien.

Caramel au beurre sale

Caramel au beurre sale

The salted caramel is homemade at Le Comptoir and they do sell it in jars, or so I’ve heard. I used to go to Entre-Nous on Seah Street for my crepe fix, but now I’m glad to see another option available.

Now, only if either of them make Grand Marnier ones like I had in St Tropez. Watch it’s gloriousness on my Instagram. And yes, follow me too.

Visit www.facebook.com/LeComptoirSingapore

