The Little Prince Creamery – Singapore

Man, I’ve been going to too many “hipster” cafes lately. I guess I’m hoping to find one I really like. So, I popped by The Little Prince Creamery in Toa Payoh during the week.

The Little Prince or Le Petit Prince, is one of my favourite books. The nuances and layers in the text always makes me laugh at the innocence of a child before crying at his maturing with each encounter he has.

So, stepping into The Little Prince Creamery was like a dreamlike experience for me. The walls down to the floor were decorated in doodles from the book resulting in a slight trompe l’oeil effect. The books were scattered liberally through the cafe as well.

The cafe serves simple fare such as homemade gelato and waffles.

Waffles with Strawberry Milkshake and Earl Grey Latte flavoured ice cream

Waffles with Strawberry Milkshake and Earl Grey Latte flavoured ice cream

The waffles were nice and pillowy with a crisp exterior, for which I was grateful. I’ve had way too many shitty waffles lately. But I do think the best waffles still can be found in Hatter Street. The ice cream names were a little over ambitious as the “Strawberry Milkshake”  was merely just a strawberry gelato.

It was good ice cream, but call a spade a spade, seriously. Same went for the Earl Grey “latte” flavour. But I did like the strong taste of tea that was present in the gelato.

I also had a separate scoop of Lemon Biscotti gelato.

Lemon  Biscotti

Lemon Biscotti

This one was a little powdery with bits of grainy biscotti. The lemon flavour could be strong but I liked the thick quality of the ice cream. What makes good ice cream is its density due to the lack of air in the tubs. That makes it much harder to scoop and it takes slightly longer to melt as well. That’s why gelato is so dense and sticky, due to its milk and cream content.

Something I learnt working in a premium ice cream stall as a teenager.

Anyway, it’s not very accessible, but overall a decent spot for tea and dessert.

Visit www.facebook.com/LittlePrinceCafe

