Apple Upside-Down Cake – Singapore

If you have been following me on Instagram (shameless plug here), you would know that I made some food over Christmas for my dinner party.

So what did I make? I made an easy Apple Upside-Down Cake from an Autumn recipe round-up from Buzzfeed. I must say this recipe took me a good 2.5 hours at least to make.

CIMG2465

 

You can look at the easy recipe here.

I used five medium-sized South African Fuji Apples as I didn’t have four large ones. As the recipe states, you need to use apples with a crunch. The apples need to be able to hold their shape after cooking, if not you’re just going to end up with apple sauce.

Let me tell you, I did not realise that apples cooked in brown butter are so delicious. Brown butter takes on a nuttier and grittier feel that adds a slightly smokey yet creamy flavour to the apples which goes perfectly with the caramel glaze.

Instead of the one full cup of sugar the glaze called for, I used half a cup instead and it was just perfect.  I normally reduce the sugar by at least 40 to 50 per cent whenever I’m baking from a western recipe. There’s usually just way too much sugar! Also, don’t worry if you don’t have cardamom, cinnamon would do just fine.

The cake part of the recipe smelt amazing after it was baked, probably because I used the zest of half a lemon instead of a tablespoon. It worked out great as the refreshing zest acted as a foil to the caramelised topping. I would actually make this as a lemon cake in the future. Oh, I had no electric mixer so I did this part by hand, and it turned out all right as well.

For ease of removal, I’d suggest using a spring-form pan like I did to easily remove the cake and the upend it onto a plate.

CIMG2467

 

I really tried for concentric circles but after a while, I was like ah, screw it. My apple slices were uneven anyway, so perhaps if you’re better at chopping apples than I am, you might get a prettier top than I did.

More to come, I’ve been spending loads of time in the kitchen for the holidays!

 

 

