Sacha & Sons – Singapore

Ever since I’ve watched the Nanny as a child, I’ve always wondered about the New York Jew. What do they eat? How does it taste like? Are the people really that colourful?

Well, I guess I can answer the first two questions now with the opening of Sacha & Sons in Mandarin Gallery. Taking over the old spot where Wild Honey used to be ( Wild Honey moved into the art gallery next door and they own Sacha & Sons too), Sacha & Sons serves New York style Jewish-style deli delights with an extra dose of cheeriness.

The cheeriness of the service staff is a welcome change from its sullen sister Wild Honey, but perhaps due to the place being only a week, the staff is a little unsure about the menu and the procedures. The food also took quite a while despite the lack of crowd.

But, without further ado, this is what we ate.

Matzo ball soup, potato latkes with apple sauce and  the Reuben sandwich

Matzah ball soup, potato latkes with apple sauce and the Reuben sandwich

Ok, the matzah ball soup came in full but we kind of nibbled at it a little before I took this picture. The normal portion comes with two but this was part of their half and half where you can choose a sandwich and a soup/salad. Matzah ball is traditionally an Ashkenazi Jew dish made of matzah bread – unleavened bread, eggs, water and fat, typically schmaltz. It tastes like a doughy meat ball in a savoury chicken broth, not very much different from the meatball soups we get in Asia.

The potato latkes reminded me of mini rostis. I decided to get the apple sauce latkes as I figured I could get smoked salmon and “rosti” anywhere else. And I did not regret it. The apple sauce was mushy and spicy with a strong scent of star anise and went oddly well with the slightly oily potato latkes.

sacha 1

Beef Pastrami Reuben Sandwich and Matzah Brei

The Reuben sandwich with homemade beef pastrami is probably the best I’ve had in SIN City. You have the choice of rye or a bagel for your bread and then the layers of luscious beef pastrami/corned beef (you can pick either or), gruyere cheese and Russian dressing get piled on.

The first bite is everything. You get the tang from the saurkraut and creaminess from the Russian dressing before the smokiness of the pastrami and the sweetness from the rye, it all comes together in a perfect marriage of ambrosia.

Obviously this is not kosher, the cheese and meat together is a big no no. But, I’m not Jewish so this is not an issue for me. But just so we are clear, this sandwich is not kosher. 

On the bottom of the image, you see the Ashkenazi version of the local “chai tow kway”…I kid, I kid. But you have to agree it does look like white Chinese carrot cake. This is essential matzah bread fried with eggs and served with sour cream and roe. This dish was a little tasteless to me and it was not very filling. I do not think I’ll be ordering this again.

Bagel with chopped liver

Bagel with chopped liver

Ironically, the last dish to arrive was the chopped liver on a bagel. It was probably thinking “What am I chopped liver?”

*womp womp*

If you’re the type of person that asks for extra liver when you eat minced meat noodles, this one is for you. The slight sweet dressing and pickles did nothing to mask the very strong scent of the offal, but I definitely can see some people loving this dish like my dining companions did. I pinched a little of the bagel and it did not let its NY roots down. It was soft and fluffy, much softer than the jaw breaking ones to which I was accustomed.

I didn’t get to have dessert as the deli was closing, but I did notice that they have raisin kugel and bundt cake.

I’ll be back the next time around for that and some other dishes I missed like the knishes and the blintzes.

Visit www.facebook.com/sachaandsonsdelicatessen

