The Pelican – Singapore

I finally went back to The Pelican on One Fullerton after I attended its opening two years ago. I think of it as a “spot-check” to see if my memory of the restaurant back in 2012 was still accurate. And it was for the most part.

I entered the restaurant for my 7pm booking but some of friends were running late, so my boyfriend and I sat there with a glass of water for about half an hour. After telling the waiter I did not want any fancy “still or sparkling water”, the over-zealous hipster looking waiter kept hovering around my table, much to my annoyance. (-1 point).  Later during the meal, we had to ask said waiter for service twice and he was never paying attention. Tsk.

Apart from that mild snafu, the prices at The Pelican are quite steep for the portion size, but the ingredients are of a good quality. However, I did feel it was slightly overpriced? I seemed to recall that portions were larger back then.

Old Fashioned Crab Cakes & The Pelican Potted Prawns

Old Fashioned Crab Cakes & The Pelican Potted Prawns

We had the Old Fashioned Crab Cakes and The Pelican Potted Prawns to start. The crab cakes were very good with slivers of crab meat spilling out of the battered shell but two small fried crab cakes for $24 was pushing it a little, in my opinion. The Pelican Potted Prawns had a slightly misleading description as it came almost like a diced prawn salad with pimentos, pernod and three slices of pumpernickel bread. I had expected full shrimp instead of this sandwich spread, so I was not very impressed.

Baked Snapper Pie and  Yellowfin Tuna Steak

Baked Snapper Pie and Yellowfin Tuna Steak with a side dish of Old Bay Fries

We shared a flaky Baked Snapper pot Pie which the restaurant so nicely carved a fish in the filo pastry. I do wish that the creamy insides with generous pieces of snapper could have been placed in a pastry shell as well instead of a casserole dish. It would just make the dish infinitely better. The side of Old Bay Fries was absolutely addictive but overpriced at $12 for that minute portion. Like, dude, it’s just potatoes, you can give us a little more….

Yellowfin Tuna Steak

Yellowfin Tuna Steak

The Yellowfin Tuna Steak was cooked to medium rare perfection. The outsides were flaky and juicy while the inside remained tender and pink. Excellent. The tuna steak seems deceptively small but you should be full by the end of it. It comes with a side of white beans tossed in pesto and two peeled cherry tomatoes. It has minimal seasoning but it packs a salty taste of the sea in each bite. Yummy!

After all that, we decided to give dessert a miss. As with most restaurants, the dessert menu seems to be an after thought with uninspired sweets, but I did see the neighbouring table order the “Just a slice of cake” with two forks and it was HUGE. It better be at $22.

I am very satisfied with the quality of the meal at The Pelican on the whole, but colour me price conscious. They should really increase the portion sizes by 10 percent or at least give more carby sides. Or lower the prices of the sides slightly…

Visit thepelican.com.sg

