Hoshino Coffee – Singapore

I’ve been wanting to visit this Japanese cafe since I saw the fluffy “soufflé” pancake models displayed outside the store.

But there was a queue for the longest time outside Hoshino Coffee and I never managed to try until now. And was it worth the wait?

I must say not really. The pancakes aren’t really glorified airy soufflé pancakes. They were more like a dense sponge cake with a dollop of clotted cream and a small pitcher of honey on the side.

IMG_8525.JPG
The batter is relatively tasteless and required a lot of honey syrup if not, it just feel like you’re chewing through old Sara Lee pound cake after a while.

But I’m glad to say although I was disappointed by the pancake, I did like the main courses at Hoshino.

IMG_8524.JPG
The squid ink pasta was perfectly al dente with just the right amount of oil and squid ink to keep the pasta from sticking together. Not a great date dish but screw eat food comes first.

My favourite dish was the Tomato Cream Omu Rice. A fluffy egg encases crispy rice with bits of mushroom and bacon drenched in a comforting tomato cream gravy. The chunks of mozzarella added a pizza-like quality to the dish with a gluey consistency. Very filling and very good.

Well I must say even though I was disappointed with the soufflé pancakes, I was suitably impressed by the Japanese-Western food at Hoshino. Strange how you go in thinking you’ll love one thing but leave liking another.

Visit Hoshino Coffee in Plaza Singapura level 3 (the new wing).

