Gluten-free Greek Yoghurt Muffins – Singapore

First off, I am in no way on  a health kick. I don’t have celiac disease, I don’t need things to be gluten-free. However, this muffin recipe courtesy of Buzzfeed just seemed so easy, I had to try it.

These Greek yoghurt oatmeal and chocolate chip muffins are surprising quite fluffy and light! I was supposed to blend the mixture of oatmeal for a smoother batter. But I didn’t, resulting in a chewy fibrous feel which I liked.

You can see the recipe here.

Essentially, you just put all the ingredients into a food processor and blend. Then add the chocolate chips, then in it goes into the oven. For my batch, I just mixed them by hand and put them in the oven.  Oh, and I omitted the bananas as I didn’t want to buy a whole bunch only to use two. The recipe states that the batter is good for 12, but since I didn’t blend it, I guess it was only good for 6.

IMG_8131

The muffins cooked in 15 to 20 minutes, fairly quickly in my opinion. Let it cool for about 5 minutes or so before attempting to de-pan them with a paring knife. It should be quite easy if you’ve greased them enough.

IMG_8130

The resulting muffin is less buttery and dense than the typical one made with butter and flour, but altogether this Greek yoghurt substitute muffin isn’t all that bad either. It’s less cloying and quite satisfying as well!

