Hu Tong – Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Well, I was in Kuala Lumpur for a whirlwind 3 days and my nights were all tied up with work, so I could not go to the famed night food street Jalan Alor for chicken wings, black Hokkien noodles, oyster omelette and more. Sad face.

So if you’re like me and on a business trip with no free nights, try the Hu Tong Foodcourt in Lot 10. It is actually under the Food Republic group from SIN City. Apparently, the group took in all the third-generation hawkers and plonked them in one place. The best part is, it operates mall hours, so if you only have lunch time to spare. Head to Hu Tong for a spot of local fare. Hey look, I rhymed 😛

Kuala Lumpur's famous black Hokkien noodles

Kuala Lumpur’s famous black Hokkien noodles

It may not look like much, but it is one of my favourite local dishes in Kuala Lumpur. It is essentially yellow egg noodles tossed in flaming hot wok with some seafood, cabbage, egg, lard, sweet sauce and dark sauce. The one at Hu Tong wasn’t sweet enough for my liking, but the wok-hei – loosely translated to “wok breath” – was present and I consider that a good hallmark. Wok-hei is the smoky fragrance most local Chinese dishes from SIN City and Malaysia have, if cooked with skill. It is quite hard to explain actually…

My dining companion had something not from Kuala Lumpur, he actually picked a famous Penang dish, the Curry Noodles.  The potent curry gravy was topped off with more chilli. See the layer of chilli oil? It comes with tofu pieces, cuttle fish and pigs blood cubes.

Assam Laksa

Curry Noodles from “Penang” in Hu Tong

As I said in my previous post, the food in Malaysia varies slightly from what I get in SIN City, but some goodies like this can only be found across the border.

Visit www.lot10hutong.com/aboutus.asp

