Speculoos Bread Twists – Singapore

I was browsing for a new recipe to try over the weekend and I came across this Nutella bread recipe from Saturday Treats. I have never baked bread before and thus I decided to put my own little twist on the recipe and switch out the Nutella for my Speculoos cookie butter from Poppy & Co. And this was the result.

photo 2

 

It is quite tedious making this bread because of all the rolling. The dough is a little sticky as it is warm in SIN, it doesn’t stay cool for a long time if you don’t have a metal counter or marble surface. However the recipe is worth it. I had a little trouble lining up the dough in a perfect circle, but it didn’t matter in the end as the twists made it all pretty! The prep time takes quite a bit as the dough has to rise and rest after kneading, so only try if you have ample time on your hands.

photo 1

 

I am going to try layering the dough with different spreads in the future, perhaps speculoos and peanut butter? Or jam and peanut butter? Or for a local twist, kaya (coconut jam) and butter…

So many choices so little time!

Thanks Stacey for the great recipe!

 

