The Sushi Bar – Singapore

Cheap sushi is not necessarily good, but The Sushi Bar in Far East Plaza is exactly known for that. Affordability and quality. The word of the sushi joint spread through word-of-mouth and now, there is always a snaking queue at meal times at The Sushi Bar.

They recently opened up the option for reservations, but according to their Facebook page, they have had overwhelming response due to the recent TV spot they did for  a local channel. Anyway, I made my reservation a week in advance to get to this hot spot.

My friends and I ordered the exact same thing. The Chirashi Don. At $24.90++ the amount of thick cuts of sashimi and the sheer variety provided is excellent value.

Chirashi Don

Chirashi Don

Salmon roe, swordfish, salmon, aburi salmon, scallops, tuna, yellowtail, egg and ginger came atop vinegared Japanese pearl rice. The fish was all pristine fresh and I love how the ikura (salmon roe) gave a moreish and briney quality to the dish with a delightful popping sensation.

We also shared the Aburi Salmon Maki. This is probably one of the best Aburi Salmon I’ve tried. Aburi refers to a torched piece of sashimi that is seared on the outside resulting in a smoky flavour whilst the inside remains raw. The roll comprised fried salmon skin, cucumbers, avocado and seaweed wrapped in a torched piece of salmon.

Aburi Salmon Roll

Aburi Salmon Roll

I would love to come back and try more in the future. But now, I just have to wait for the damn hype to come down before I can go back again! There is just way too many walk-ins to contend with. I have heard they have a new unagi (eel) fried rice that is to die for. Time to pencil in another Sushi Bar date soon.

Visit www.facebook.com/thesushibar.sg

