Karaköy Güllüoğlu – Istanbul, Turkey

I know what you’re thinking, “She posts one thing and goes MIA again”. But I have good reasons, I have been enriching my soul by indulging my wanderlust. This is just one part of my holiday and many more are to come, I was merely in transit in Istanbul for 8 hours and I made good use of the time with a few new found Turkish friends.

Image

Check out the display for their national holiday. And the store itself.

20140522-001110.jpg
Anyway, we had some baklava, burma kadayif with pistachio and shredded wheat dessert with pistachio filling.

The baklava was easily the best I had tasted, delicious flaky filo pastry encasing sweetened mixed nuts. The Burma Kadayif is essentially bread soaked in sugar syrup, sprinkled with pistachios and came with a side of milky cream. The shredded wheat dessert is kinda like rice vermicelli with pistachio paste and sugar. It was a pity they didn’t have kunefe, a version of this stuffed with cheese.

20140522-001653.jpg

From Top: Burma Kadayif with pistachio, Shredded wheat dessert with pistachio filling and Baklava

Just look at that. Any wonder I was had a major sugar high after?

Visit www.karakoygulluoglu.com/en for more

