Bar-Roque – Singapore

So far, I’ve not had a bad experience at Bar-Roque. I’ve been there quite a few times for work and the food is always good. And it’s money well spent. Just look at this salmon dish with ravioles.

20140113-234200.jpg

Owned by Alsatian chef Stephane Istel the effervescent chef can be seen running around the open kitchen and speaking with guests.

We started off our meal with a charcuterie platter filled with ham, terrine and smoked duck and a classic tarte flambée, a dish known from the Alsace region. The tarte flambée is essentially a thin crusted pizza with crème fraîche, bacon and cheese.

20140113-234059.jpg

Other mains we had included their signature rotisserie chicken and a wagyu beef steak. Both were cooked to perfection. I found the chicken a little bland for my liking, but it is often the case with Western style chicken for me. Not enough flavour in the meat.

Dessert is a must at Bar-Roque as the two top desserts, the Alsatian Cheese Cake and the Apple Pie with a side of milk ice cream are the Chef’s mother’s recipes. The Germanic style cheese cake is much lighter and has a pie like crust and a drizzle of berry coulis. Mmm!

20140113-234739.jpg
I’ll be back to Bar-Roque in no time at all since I love the food here so much.

Visit www.bar-roque.com.sg

