Olivia Cassivelaun Fancourt OCF – Singapore

Qui est Olivia Cassivelaun Fancourt? That is the question I asked as well when I was at OCF. Well, turns out she’s the first wife of Singapore’s founder Sir Stamford Raffles. She was a much older and widowed woman whereas he was a strapping young man making his way up the bureaucracy. Looks like she was a cougar of sorts 😛

Anyway, she died quite early and Raffles’ second wife practically erased her existence until now. So, OCF the restaurant opened up behind the Sir Stamford Raffles statue at the Arts House serving modern European cuisine with live music.With a dress code banning slippers, bermudas and singlets, this place is strictly for grown ups.

They change their menus quite often so some dishes featured may no longer be on the menu but here is what my dining and companions had during the Executive Set Lunch.

photo 1

From left: Scallop Carpaccio, Herring, Aged Striploin, Barley Risotto, Lobster Capellini and Atlantic Bass

It’s quite hard to find a place in Singapore that does herring, and when I saw it on the menu. I seized it immediately, the vinegary pickled fish is an acquired taste, but one which I love. The scallop carpaccio is available as an add on, I didn’t quite like the slimy texture but my dining companions did. My striploin arrived a little too overdone for my liking, but the meat was still tender and juicy, thank goodness.

The Lobster Capellini is also available as an add on but is worth it if you love seafood based pastas.

photo 2

From top: Passionfruit Yoghurt, Apple Mille Feuille and Chocolate Tart

The desserts were nothing to shout about but the Chocolate Tart is a must for chocolate lovers. The dark, bittersweet filling sits in a sable pastry with a quenelle of dark chocolate ice-cream. Yum.

Again: All these things may no longer be on the seasonal menu.

Visit: http://ocf-singapore.com/

 

