Nara Thai – Bangkok and Singapore

I’m back from Bangkok! Completely died from all the shopping and nonstop walking but I managed to stop in Bangkok Tatler’s best restaurant of 2013, Nara Thai at Central World. Some may say that this is overpriced Thai street food, but I for one do not want to have my mouth burnt out by their notoriously hot chillis. So I’ll stick to the refined version in Nara Thai.

Nara Thai also opened at Ion Orchard a couple months back and I’ve also tried the food there. So why not pit them against each other?

I went to the one in SIN before Bangkok and was very impressed with the Soft Shell Crab Yellow Curry. Yum! It was an eggy curry that tasted like my childhood snack of Twisties. It was heavenly with rice. The one in Bangkok disappointed me as it was way too liquid and not as moreish.
The Pomelo Salad is refreshingly good as well.

20131011-202745.jpg

I had other dishes as well like the Hors D’oeuvres Nara. The one in Singapore is a bit pricier but includes the Pandan Wrapped Chicken which stole the show, closely behind that was their Thai fishcake.

Not to be missed is their Nara Coconut Ice-cream. It come with all the colourful Thai condiments such as red ruby, chendol, corn, jackfruit and peanuts. And then it’s complete DIY fun!

20131011-203548.jpg

Nara Thai is located at Ion Orchard in Singapore and Centralworld in Bangkok.

