Making Matcha Cheesecake – Singapore

I came across this incredibly easy recipe on All Recipes (click on hyperlink for this amazingly easy three step recipe).

I reduced the sugar a little bit as I thought they were adding too much in the recipe. But, it still turned out a bit too sweet for my liking, so I’ll reduce it by 40% the next time. I added another extra tablespoon of matcha powder as I like a strong tea flavour. I also used Philadelphia Low Fat Cheese Spread instead of the traditional blocks, so the cake is a little less gelatinous.

Watch the cake

Watch the cake

In SIN finding Graham crackers is next to impossible, so I substituted it with a digestive biscuit base. Don’t bother buying a ready-made base. It is so easy to make.

Digestive biscuit crust (As seen in top left image)

6- 7 digestive biscuits pounded into a fine dust (place it in a Zip-Lock bag and use a pestle or a rolling pin to crumb them)

85g of unsalted butter (I realised I used salted by accident, but the biscuit crust turned into a salted caramel biscuit base. So it was a happy accident)

2-3 tablespoons of caster sugar

Combine them with a food processor or if you don’t own one like me, put a plastic bag over your hand and mash away.

Press it onto the base of a springform tin.

Bake for 7 minutes in a preheated oven at about 190 degrees C.

Filling

image

Follow the recipe linked for the cheesecake filling and pour onto the cooled crust and place in the over for 25 minutes at 175 degrees C. The cake should wobble.

Decorate with strawberries, raspberries or blueberries. I used Driscoll’s strawberries with small to medium sized berries as opposed to the huge ones. That way you have more to play with and they are also more tart.

This is optional but it makes it look so much better don’t you think?

 

 

 

 

