Tim Ho Wan – Singapore

There was much buzz when the cheapest 1-Michelin starred dim sum from Hong Kong made its way to my sunny city in April. Since then the queue have been massive and there is a minimum of a 1.5h wait (I had a friend wait for 3.5h). I was lucky enough to get a taste of this Michelin starred dim sum. And my verdict….it is good but I will not wait that long for it. Seriously, I don’t wait that long for anything.

The menu, as I  understand is not as extensive as the original branch in Hong Kong. And they have no Liu Sha Bao…which makes me sad. We had the Baked Bun with BBQ Pork ($4.50 for three), Steamed Egg Cake (ma lai gao, $3.8o), Siew Mai ($5) and har gao ($5.50). The Steamed Egg cake was softer than the local versions but was no great shakes, the BBQ pork bun however was the best I have ever tasted. With a polo bun shell and sweet bbq char siew on the inside, I had no problems polishing off three of these buns. The siew mai and har gao both contain pieces of fresh shrimp. They are also made to order, so none are just sitting around.

IMG_3530[1]Their Teochew-style dumplings ($4) were filled with chives and pork-  which reminded me faintly of crystal dumplings – and the Beef Balls with Beancurd Skin ($4.40)was a miss for me. Both had an odd flavour that perhaps, I did not appreciate but others might. Tim Ho Wan is also well known for their liver chee cheong fun, but I got the BBQ pork filled rice roll (chee cheong fun) and that was simply heavenly. So were the deep fried Spring Rolls with Egg White. Mmm.

IMG_3531[1]I have not eaten at the one in Hong Kong, so I do not have any preconceived notions about the dim sum at the Singaporean arm of Tim Ho Wan. It is definitely worth a visit, but I would never queue more than 20 minutes for it. Wait for the hype to die down, then go.

Tim Ho Wan is located at Plaza Singapura’s new extension on the first floor.

