Cha Cha Cha Mexican Restaurant – Singapore

Well, it’s not really Mexican per se, it’s more like Tex-Mex but in Asia we don’t really see a difference… Cha Cha Cha has been around for a long long time…since 1990. Located in the expatriate enclave of Holland Village, it is up the street of the bigger Lorong Mambong where all the pubs and restaurants are.

A good friend of mine met up on a rainy rainy day, after a long spell of travelling and we ended up at Cha Cha Cha. I love Mexican food. But it is incredibly hard to find a burrito or taco around here. So, I was up for it for sure. However with Mexican food being as heavy as it is, we couldn’t eat very much.

Well of course, they gave us a basket full of tortilla chips and salsa to whet our appetites and then came our mains. My friend picked the Cerdo con Salsa Verde, which is stewed pork in green chillis with Mexican rice and flour tortillas.

IMG_3058

Carb heavy indeed

I don’t even think she touched the tortillas, just had the rice and the pork stew. The pork was tender and had a slight spicy warmth to it from the green chillis. Not too bad for a cold night.  I was craving a burrito, so I got the prawn burrito instead. I really wanted a chimichanga, which is essentially a deep-fried burrito, but a voice in my head told me to stop before I get a heart attack.

say Burrrriiiiito

say Burrrriiiiito

I haven’t been to the United States or to Mexico just yet, but since they’ve been around a while in fickle minded SIN City, I’m going to go ahead and say they are pretty good. The rice, shrimp, avocados and cheese were nicely melted and served with a side of refried beans, sour cream and guacamole. Just mmm.

If anyone knows of an excellent Mexican food place, do comment or  something. I’m always on the lookout.

Visit http://www.chachacha.com.sg for more information.

