Lunar New Year, Day 2 – Singapore

Ouf. I am utterly stuffed after two full days of non-stop eating. I visit one relative, I eat. Two hours later, I go to another, I eat again. Wash, rinse, repeat.Just to show you guys the a typical Singaporean Chinese new year meal, here’s a sample from my father’s house.

IMG_2986

And that is just a meal for four! Each year, my dad makes this assorted mushroom, chicken breast and abalone soup for the new year. It is a heady warm broth that never fails to hit the right spot for me. My grandmother would also prepare my childhood favourite – battered shrimp. Actually, she used to make battered shark meat for me, but with all this controversy, it’s kinda hard to obtain anything shark.

Comfort soup

IMG_2987 Soup and Shrimp

You will also find an “anything goes” egg dish. It is essentially an omelette containing whatever leftovers, usually lup cheong– Chinese waxed sausages or bak kwasweet pork jerky.

IMG_2990

Apart from that, there’s also a multitude of cookies, candies and chocolates to gorge on at each house. And Mandarin oranges of course. Fortune cookies are an American thing, they do not exist in the actual Chinese culture, but due to cultural imperialisation, I had some this new year. I broke open the cookie only to find no fortune inside.¬†*_*

Haha! The Lunar New Year lasts for 15 days. Probably the worse holiday for an Asian diet. It’s our version of the whole “Thanksgiving-Christmas-New Year’s Eve” binge.

Oh and I forgot, Happy Valentine’s Day, y’all!

