&Made by Bruno Menard – Singapore

When a three Michelin Star chef decides to open a burger shack in Singapore, you know it’s a place you have to try. I was quite upset when &made took over the long standing Cream Bistro at Pacific Plaza as I loved Cream for it’s cheap fare, but after trying &made…I guess it’s out with the old, in with the new.

I found the name funny for a while until I realised why &made was pronounced “and-made”. The French can’t pronounce the H in Handmade. Avec l’accent francais. Haha!

Jokes aside. The burgers are of course “gourmet” style with duck confit burgers, kimchi burgers and lamb burgers on the menu. They even have truffle fries (!!!) AW YEAH. They also sell an assortment of buckwheat crepes and salads.

My dining companion and I picked the DD -duck confit with red cabbage pickles, green apple and pepper lime mayo ($22) and the Three Little Pigs – bacon, pork fillet and chorizo patty with shittake mushrooms, cabbage, pickles and yuzu-kosho mayo ($23).

The DD

The DD with a side of truffle fries

The duck was well roasted and not too dry. It went well with the accompanying condiments with a satisfying crunch from the cabbage and apples. My Three Little Pigs burger on the other hand was just pure sin.

IMG_2553

The Three Little Pigs *Oink Oink* with truffle fries

The slightly greasy patty had a spicy kick to it from the chorizo but the yuzu sauce kept things light enough. Unlike the typical American burger where everything is too much and loaded with mayo. Both burgers came in buns fresh from the panini press.

IMG_2554

I’m ready for my close up…

Chow down on these burgers when if you’re ever around the Pacific Plaza area. After all when else can you get a three Michelin Star chef’s recipes and concoctions for a normal restaurant price? This is no L’atelier Joel Robuchon but Bruno Menard is worth a shot.

&Made is located at

Pacific Plaza, 9 Scotts Road

#01-04/05/06

S228210

http://www.andmade.sg/

