Welcome Seafood Restaurant – Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

So sorry for being MIA on you guys again. I’ve been incredibly busy. This trip to Kota Kinabalu was completely sudden and unexpected. Keeping with blogging tradition, here’s some of the grub I had when I was there.

I know the name of the restaurant is a little funny. “Welcome Seafood Restaurant” but it’s really what it’s called. It’s a family style place where locals gather for a traditional Chinese style seafood feast.

The seafood is completely fresh as you see them swimming in tanks as you enter the restaurant, I know it’s a little sad to see your food alive before it ends up on your plate, but in the Chinese culture, this proves your seafood is as fresh as can be.

And behold, my travel companions and I had a meal of steamed shrimp and and enormous scallops to begin with. The scallops were done just right and had a clean bite to it. I think I almost polished off the entire plate of shrimp on my own as well.

Steamed Shrimp and Scallops

Next up at the table was the fried fish paste and pepper crab. Now I am never a fan of crabs as they are usually tedious to eat and the flesh within is just not worth the fuss. But I didn’t have a choice over that day’s menu, so I thought “ah what the hell.” and tried the crabs.

IMG_2911[1]

Still not a fan of the crustcean but the pepper sauce with curry leaves was divine. If I had some bread I would have mopped it up!
And with the piece de resistance and mark of any good seafood place is the steamed fish. And it did not disappoint.

20130131-121848.jpg

The fish was well flavoured with ginger slices and meaty. Some of my dining companions took great relish in consuming the eyes of the fish as well.

This whole meal may seem bizarre to some of my western readers, but this is the way seafood is consumed in Asia.

Welcome Seafood Restaurant is located at

Lot G13-18, Ground Floor,

Asia City Complex,

Phase 2A, Jalan Asia City, 88300 Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia.

