Restoran Kapitan – Penang, Malaysia

Happy 2013! I’m back in Sin City after my foray into a regional country I’ve gained lot of insights, rest and a couple of pounds during my lazy holiday. Penang maybe known for their Assam Laksa (which, I’m not too fond of) but I think I might have actually had the best Indian food of my life (excluding the ones in India as I haven’t been) right here in Restoran Kapitan in Penang.

I was living in a really convenient location in Georgetown where everything was within walking distance and food littered the street. I ate so much street food like chee cheong fun, char kway teow, wonton noodles, desserts… I miss Penang already.

But, I digress. Kapitan is easily found at the tip of Lebuh Chulia, near to Little India. It is also Tripadvisor recommended and has free Wifi.

IMG_2638

Kapitan at Lebuh Chulia

We started off with traditional drinks with my boyfriend ordering the Mango Lassi and me with a nice cup of Teh Halia Kosong – coffeeshop speak for ginger tea without sugar.Β  I love ginger tea, especially with greasy and heavy food, it really helps everything settle in the ol’tummy.

Le beverages

Les beverages

For the mains I had the Cheese Naan set for MYR$10. The chewy naan came with a tender and well-spiced piece of tandoori chicken. Normally I hate tandoori chicken as it tends to be overspiced and causes a stomach upset, but this one. I was picking every single bit of flesh of the bone. Mmmm…accompanied with the tart lime and onion sauce, it was heaven. My boyfriend ordered some dhal and boneless butter chicken. I did not try the butter chicken, however the dhal was a tad salty for my palate, but I do have bland tastebuds when it comes to salt, so it’ll be fine for the rest of you. πŸ™‚

Naan Set, Butter Chicken and Dhal

Naan Set, Butter Chicken and Dhal

Restoran Kapitan is located at

93 Lebuh Chulia, Georgetown,

Penang Island 10200Β 

Malaysia

