Sauce – Singapore

Guys, I’m going to let you in on a secret here. I’ve found one of the best deals at the Esplanade at Sauce. Apart from $5 nett Asahi Beers all day all night…on Saturdays until 8pm cocktails are buy 1 get 2 free. An excellent deal indeed

Apart from the cheap alcohol, Sauce also does some good nosh. A fusion between Western and Asian elements, we end up with sides like Luncheon Meat Chips, Poutine, Truffle Fries and Lunch Meat burgers. The mains are well portioned although the meal is a bit expensive for what they serve…but I guess they have to make the rent some how..as long as they keep the cheap booze flowing I’m not complaining.

Sauce @ the Esplanade

Sauce @ the Esplanade

I had been to Sauce on an earlier occasion and was not impressed by their Ravioli Arrabiata, but this time their “Fresh Catch of The Day”, a teriyaki grilled salmon fillet atop a pillow of mash potatoes and boiled vegetables definitely hit the sweet spot for me. The fish was fresh and cooked just enough to retain its moisture while being crispy on the outside. The buttery mashed potatoes that accompanied made me feel so guilty that I just put more into my mouth because I was already fat from that spoonful. What’s a girl gotta do ? πŸ˜›

Catch of The Day

Catch of The Day

My dining companions had the signature Sauce cheese burger and the Fish and Chips that came coated in Japanese bonito flakes. Both commented that the food was well made with balanced flavours. The bonito flakes were a nice touch for the typically British fish fry but made it all the more sinful with the mayo used to help the flakes stick. Guilty times ahead with the food from Sauce.

IMG_2536 IMG_2535

You might wonder…what? No dessert? Which is very strange for me, I’d admit. But, Sauce doesn’t do desserts unfortunately. So cross over to Max Brenner’s Chocolate Bar in the Esplanade more to get your fix or to Barossa that’s just opposite Sauce for a to-die-for Sticky Date Pudding.

Visit http://www.saucebar.com.sg/ for more information.

 

