Yum Cha – Singapore

I’ve been blogging too much about French and Western food lately. So, I took a little trip to Chinatown with my mother for some dim sum. True to Chinese culture, we ordered too much for our own good.

(I’m trying a new picture jointer app to consolidate these photos as there were too many dishes!) Trying not to overload you with photos. 🙂

Yum Cha, meaning “drink tea” in Cantonese loosely translated to tea time/brunch time in Hong Kong where families or senior citizens gather in the middle of the afternoon or on weekends for a meal that can last as long as 4 hours, where they catch up, play chess or cards, eat dim sum and drink tea.

This restaurant has been around since I was a child. And I remembered always being filled with excitement whenever I was taken there. There are, of course, better and more expensive dim sum places. But Yum Cha is my childhood favourite.

Dim Sum 点心 and Char Siew Pao 叉烧包

My mother always told me a good Char Siew Pao always has four split openings to let the steam out as compared to factory-made paos. A bamboo tiffin of dim sum costs between $3.50-5.00. We also had har gau – prawn dumplings (虾饺), siew mai – pork dumplings (烧卖), xiao long bao – dumplings filled with pork and broth (小笼包), chee cheong fun (猪肠粉)- rice sheets filled with shrimp/pork and a small plate of seafood noodles ($11.00).

Chee Cheong Fun 猪肠粉,Har Gau 虾饺,Siew Mai 烧卖, Xiao Long Bao (小笼包)

Although I’ve been to better places for dim sum, this place holds some nostalgia for me. There’s usually a baked goods section of dim sum where they have egg tarts but they ran out by the time I was there :(.

Yum Cha is located at

20 Trengganu Street (Off Temple Street)

#02-01 (Chinatown) Singapore 058479

Tel : 6372 1717

Mon to Fri: 11am – 11pm

Sat, Sun & Public Holidays: 9am – 11pm

www.yumcha.com.sg

