La Maison Fatien – Singapore

I was having terrible Paris withdrawal symptoms but popping into an authentic French bistro – complete with yellow lighting, which explains the tone of my photos –  on Duxton Road cured that in a jiffy.

I love the Tanjong Pagar area. Plenty of lovely cafes and restaurants. The perfect place to chill out.

Anyway, my friend recommended La Maison Fatien, a mid range price bistro complete with French maitre’ds to boot. Bonus points that I got to practice my French with the wait staff. Which impressed my dining companion….my mother.

We started off with the French onion soup and a cocotte of moules frites (mussels and fries).  The onion soup was a mite salty but the mussels were amazingly fresh. Even better than the ones I had at La Maree.

French Onion Soup

Moules Frites

The mains were French classics of Duck Confit with Sarladaise Potatoes and Roasted Pork Chop with Potato Puree. Omnonom! The duck was soft on the inside and crisp on the outside. My mother loved her tender pork chop as well.

Duck Confit and Pork Chop

We were dead stuffed by then. But there’s always an extra stomach for dessert. Along came the quintessential creme brulee and a red fruit crumble with vanilla ice-cream. Mmmmm.

Creme Brulee and Red Fruit Crumble

Apologies for the yellowish photos.

La Maison Fatien is located at

76 Duxton Road

S089535

http://lamaisonfatien.com/

