Cicerellos – Perth, Western Australia

On my recent family trip to Australia, I dragged my parents to Fremantle. And while they were content with eating at any old cafe. I insisted on Cicerellos.

Any seafood lover worth their salt knows that if you go to Fremantle or Freo as the locals call it, you have to eat at Cicerello’s. Cross this off your bucket list.

Cicerello’s

Established in 1903, the interior is filled with photographs of fisherman with enormous fishes as well as shark attack memorabilia. Located by Fremantle Harbour, right next to Little Creatures Brewery, the  restaurant even has a live band out on the docks.

Serving a myraid of seafood fry ups to grills, one is spoilt for choice at Cicerellos.

Of course, we got the famous fish and chips. Although, we had forgotten how large portions were in Australia. So we had a surplus of chips!

My parents especially my father were not accustomed to the new choice of starch. A few days later, they were hunting for Asian food on Roe Street. I, on the other hand, headed of to North Bridge for beer and cider with my friends. Anyway, I digress.

Cicerello’s interior

Fish N Chips (all that greasy goodness)

We also had a sharing portion of Perth’s signature chilli mussels.

Chilli Mussels

The dishes weren’t very pretty to look at but the quality of the food was top notch. The leftover fries did not go to waste as we mopped the sauce up with them.

Perfect start to a Sunday morning. Walking around the Sunday market at Fremantle after was a great way to digest all that food we polished off too.

Cicerellos is located at

Fisherman’s Wharf

44 Mews Road

Fremantle 6160

Telephone: (08) 9335 1911

www.cicerellos.com.au

